10:00 - 19:00
Kloster Eberbach, 65346 Eltville am Rhein
Eberbach Monastery, founded in 1136 by Bernhard von Clairvaux, still exists today as a completely preserved ensemble of outstanding Romanesque, Gothic and Baroque buildings.
The almost 900-year-old former Cistercian abbey is a magical place where tradition and modernity come together in a unique combination. Founded in 1136, the community of monks, initially consisting of twelve brothers, quickly developed into one of the most important monasteries in Germany. The cultural monument of Eberbach Monastery is still characterized by the impressive simplicity of Romanesque and early Gothic architecture and is one of the best-preserved historical monastery complexes in Europe.
In 1985/1986, the monastery became world-famous as the location for the sensational film adaptation of Umberto Eco's bestseller "The Name of the Rose".
Today, it is run by the non-profit Eberbach Monastery Foundation, whose core tasks are to protect and preserve the complex. At the same time, the wine-growing tradition is preserved in cooperation with the Eberbach Monastery Winery. Every year, hundreds of thousands of visitors experience the hospitality at one of Europe's most popular excursion destinations - true to the Cistercian motto "Our door is open, our heart even more so!"